As a celiac, you have to be careful about the beverages you consume. But that doesn’t
mean that you can’t have an alcoholic beverage if you choose to. Alcohol is allowed
in the celiac diet, as long as you choose the right types of alcohol.
According to the Canadian Celiac Association Handbook 3rd edition hard liquors such
as Rye, Scotch, Vodka etc. are safe for people with Celiac disease.
The reasoning behind allowing these types of liquor is that they don’t have detectable
prolamin content. Prolamins are the proteins that damage the small intestine in celiacs.
So if you enjoy these drinks, you’re in luck. Although they are made by fermenting
wheat, barley, or rye, these beverages are distilled, making them safe to drink unless
Always check the label on anything that you buy, including alcoholic beverages. Some
liqueurs and coolers have other ingredients and may not be safe for people with celiac
Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease where the surface of the small intestine
that absorbs nutrients from food is damaged by a substance called gluten.
We offer support to people diagnosed with celiac disease by providing information
about celiac disease and about how to live with celiac disease in Kingston You’ll
find resources to help you understand and manage a gluten free diet, as well as advice
on where to shop and eating out at restaurants.
Find out how to donate, volunteer, fund awards or make a bequest to support your