Canadian Celiac Association

KINGSTON CHAPTER

Terms of Use


Foods Celiacs Must Avoid


People with celiac disease must avoid eating foods made from wheat, rye, barley, and oats. These grains contain the particular gluten proteins that make celiacs sick. Oats contain only very small amounts of these gluten proteins, but most of the oats used by the food industry have been contaminated with other gluten-containing grains or flours during storage, transport, milling, or processing, and are not safe to eat.


In some cases, it’s easy to figure out if a food contains gluten. Baked goods and pastas are two examples of foods that you probably know celiacs must avoid. But gluten may also be a hidden ingredient, showing up in foods such as soups, sauces, and salad dressings.


For information on product that are gluten free please refer to the Canadian Celiac Pocket dictionary.


For complete information on the gluten free diet, go to the Canadian Celiac Association web page and click Gluten Free Diet.

Gluten Free Diet

Alcohol in the Celiac Diet

Cross-Contamination

Foods Celiacs must avoid

Helping your Celiac child cope with the Gluten Free Diet


Preparing a Safe Gluten Free Meal for those with Celiac Disease







Advertising space for sponsors